As Told By Ginger

By 9to12

The Wrong Armory

I basically spent my entire day at the Armory, and it was great.

The hardest part was waking up at 7:00 to be at the school for the bus at 7:45, but it could have been worse. The bus driver was given the wrong directions from his boss, so we ended up taking the scenic route through the Bronx to get to Manhattan. We arrived at the North Shore Invitational at about 9:15, and by the time we got in, the 3200 and the 3000 were already done and they were well into the boys 600. After some confusion with the barcodes to run with, I became Pat and he became Anthony. This is Pat running the 1000. I took this from really far away with my new zoom lens and I couldn't be happier. Timmy, Vinny, John, and I ran the 1600 after watching the Millrose Games Qualifying Mile. I ran in the third heat of the mile and ran 4:52. I'm not too happy about it but at least I was only 4 seconds off my best. The 4x800 was a little more disappointing, and I was just happy when it was over. One thing about the Armory is that when you're not running, the meet just becomes a big dance party. It's a ton of fun. We left around 4:00, and I spent the bus ride with Cheese, Lindsey, Alyssa, Pat, Vinny, Timmy, and the older Rocket. I got home around 5:15 and tutored at 6:00. Spent the rest of the night doing Eagle Scout stuff and homework.

Word of the Day: Antepenultimate - Third from the end

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.