SonofLionel

By SonofLionel

Another one off the Living List

Finally got here. We had a terrible journey from France, and finally arrived at the Causeway Hotel just before midnight last night. Ferry delays meant we were 9 hours late getting here, so only enough time for a takeaway meal and a few drinks at the bar. I awoke early. Mrs SoL was unimpressed with my plan to leap out of bed and get down to the Causeway before there were too many visitors. ‘Don’t slam the door as you leave and wake everyone up’ were the parting words as I crept out of the room. I asked the night porter for directions. He looked a little surprised and pointed at the path a few metres away. Oh, well we did arrive at night. Got down to the Causeway and, to my amazement, found I was the only person there! It was just after 7 am, plus the drizzle may have dissuaded the less keen. But, there I was, alone. There is something mystical about the place at the best of times, but the morning mist added to it. Too many pics to choose from, so the extras are my favourites. Even decided to blip myself this time. Now, where is that brochure for the Bushmills Whisky Distillery tour.
Update. Added a couple more pics to show the reality of the Causeway when the Visitor Centre opens the floodgates. Oh yes, and there was the trip to taste a little Whiskey. Old joke, but here it is all the same. What’s the difference between an Irish whiskey and a Scottish whisky? The letter e. (Its better when you just tell someone the joke........)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.