Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

An epic ride

James and Archie ride out against a background of the Caucasus Mountains. Some of the others went too (with varying degrees of success).

As I am out of practice I chose to give it a miss, instead having a hot shower for the first time in a while. 

Being such a remote place water and electricity supplies are variable. Hot water is dependent on the sun heating some pipes on the roof. As it's been cloudy over the last few days, no hot water. This morning no water at all as the plumbing had failed.

As I emerged from my shower I saw one of the guides riding back in. He cantered round to the yard at the back to removed the tack from his mount. The very second the saddle was off I saw the beast turn round and charge off up the hill to rejoin his friends. They are wild horses who very much have minds of their own (as my friends were to discover).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.