CharlottesWorldWideWeb

By CharlotteJ

Poppy Field

We have a lovely looking poppy field a short walk from us that we can see from our bathroom window.  I went this morning to go photograph it.  Unfortunately, it was pretty inaccessible, so I didn't try too hard as I don't believe in trampling over beautiful blooms!  Managed to get a few shots of close by poppies but it most certainly looks better from our window.  My walk though was not uneventful, as I crossed over to a field, on the footpath, three dogs started running at me at full tilt, their owner, who was in the distance and a near by neighbour was calling out all their names to no avail! They didn’t stop!!!  I stopped and held my hands by my side.  One dog jumped me full on and has scratched my tummy and scratched a rather sensitive part if you catch my drift!  Not impressed. The other two didn’t jump but three big male dogs all around me did make me feel threatened and I have to admit I did shout out very loudly, ‘Get away and No’.   All I got was a shouted ‘sorry’ from their owner as they tried to recall their dogs.  Now I don’t know a lot about training dogs, but I have been told shouting their name isn’t a good enough recall, you need a command.  Regardless, I doubt the thee dogs have ever had any training let alone know what a recall is.  I am seriously considering going and knocking on her door and telling her how her dogs made me feel today, but I am not very good at confrontation.

Maybe I need to wear a vest, a bit like what  Bella wears when she is out, but the human version…..’Please don’t let your dog jump’

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.