A Welcome Guest

Fluttering around the various vegetable plants in the backyard -- courgette (zuchini), andives, lettuce -- was this butterfly and his lady friend.  Both were restless in one spiral of endless flirtation that it took quite a while before this one settled down for about 15 seconds, when I had to focus and click.

Worked at home today, as I've been doing these past two weeks.  Later in the afternoon, AW and I drove to Geertruidenberg, where I'd been two weeks before, to take a stroll on the citadel.  Geertruidenberg used to be a fort, as I mentioned before, so it is surrounded by ramparts that form a 5-pointed star and that used to be manned by soldiers and bristling with canon.  You'll hardly notice it today if you don't know where to look.  After a short stroll, we sat down to a hearty snack of cheese omelet and beef teriyaki, washed down with beer (AW) and fresh orange juice, followed by another short stroll around the town where I'd already been.  AW is now able to take longer walks, but we agree that he shouldn't push it.

While we were snacking, I had to phone a colleague to clarify some stuff that we were discussing through emails.  Really ... why can't some things be organized better ... but, also, why do some people have to make things more difficult than they already are.  I ended up resolving to focus on my own work and get it done, and never mind how everyone else does theirs.  If we can't do our job all in the same way, then at least I will have done mine.  No?

That heavy snack turned out to be dinner, as I had no more appetite to have a proper dinner, while AW polished the remainder of the cherries and snacked up again later with turnips from the backyard.  He is proud of his produce ... and I am proud of him and his work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.