Thunder and rain

Finally finally the anticyclone is weakening. The vice like grip of the heat at least for the moment broken. After watering in sweltering heat and planting four long rows of borlotti, coco, cannellini beans and chickpeas in dust dry ground the rain finally . Not much and hail at that. But it was something. The wind picked up. The olive trees broke their winter weathered moorings and as I hurriedly replaced them a struck struck very near and I skiddadled did cover.

Ah the blessed cool. Water falling and the ground pungent, sticky.

Earlier as I worked under the blazing sun my s sweat fell like rain, almost unable to drink my fill from the gushing hosepipe. New plants planted. Beds cleared. A spirit of endeavour in the cool moving air.

May your beans prosper. May your summer feed the winter pot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.