Kaiser Dragon

Spent the day with Eric at the car museum near Salem. I figured I'd have hours of time to knit, but not so: the place was busy with visiting families. Lots of visitors, plus my Salem brother and sis-in-law came by for awhile.
My dad used to have a Kaiser, in fact it was the car I learned to drive with. Maybe I should say, the car I used to learn to drive. Nope, I don't like that sentence much better. How would you say it?
Anyway, that same brother, a mere 13 months younger than me, was driving long before I learned, farm boy that he was; he taught me to drive by driving our Kaiser about 1/8 mile down the dirt junkyard road behind our farmstead. Then he'd turn the car around, slide over to the left, squashed against the door, so I could slide into the driver's position. Then he would operate the clutch while I shifted the column shift, and used the gas pedal and brakes, for the drive back - while barely able to see over the center of the steering wheel. We were probably 10 and 11.
The Kaiser in the picture (see Extra) is a fancy model I'd never heard of before. The Dragon model has gold-plated emblems and bamboo-textured upholstery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.