Worrying Incident At The 7th

We were enjoying a pleasant round on the golf course this morning following this trio of elderly chaps, as we often do on a Tuesday.

As we waited for them to putt out on the sixth green, I took this photo of them up ahead on the green. By the time we'd finished the hole, we realised that they were still by the 7th tee and at first we thought they were having problems with the mobility scooter the chap on the right of picture uses to get round the course. Sadly, we soon realised that it wasn't the scooter but him who was in difficulty: he'd lost consciousness and was slumped in his seat, looking very unwell.

Fortunately, I had my phone in my bag and was able to contact the club pro and ask him to call an ambulance. He came out as quick as he could in a buggy and managed to get him back to the clubhouse.

We discovered when we finished our round that the ambulance crew had been very concerned for his health and rushed him straight to hospital. I'd been chatting to him at the start of the round when I sliced my tee shot at the first so badly that it almost reached them on the second tee. He seemed in fine form then.

We hadn't realised that he's actually 92, a tough Aussie who still enjoys his weekly round. We're hoping for good news from the Pro when we play on Thursday.

Tess & I went to see Rocketman, the Elton John biopic, at the local theatre tonight, which is why this is backblipped. We really enjoyed it, despite the tropical heat in a packed auditorium!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.