Reasons to smile...

By Lauraiea

Tough af.

That's me. Only it wasn't today, during tough mudder! To think my biggest concern was "could I run ten miles" beforehand...

Less than a mile in and met my (first) nemesis - hydrophobia and the name kind of gives it away. Fairly deep cold wet water and you have to crawl under submerged tubes. Bashed my wee heid and freaked out and that was the start of the tears. Cheers to the medic who informed me "looks like you're panicking a bit". Then it was just how cold it was, the whole way round, that got me. Once wet and cold there was no warming (think its the fastest I've ran just to stay warm/get to the finish). Also cheers to the guy who despite my absolute rage, tears and insistence I was FINE at mile seven (I so was. I mean I was going the wrong way, couldn't move my hands and couldn't hear properly, but I was totally fine) managed to force some kind of syrupy orange liquid into me. Around two seconds later I felt my brain plug itself back in and started making sense again.

You know what wasn't an issue? The electric shocks. Funny that...

Trying to get leggings, a sports bra and trainers and socks off with no feeling or grip strength, in a portaloo, after was interesting. They should list that as an additional obstacle. Didn't fancy the can of Brew Dog I got handed after...got a coffee instead. 

So glad once home. Interesting bruising and odd aches and pains. Same time next year? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.