Lazy Sunday

Too much sport on the goggle bog to drag my lazy backside out of my seat - apart from going and feeding Bags' cats, evicting the pigeons (again), doing a wee bit of weeding (and I mean a wee bit) and taking this shot for the camera club's weekly challenge ………. Your Culture.
Not as easy as it sounds, but I thought I would add in the link with Japan. They were introduced to whisky in 1854 when the Shogun's stranglehold on the country which had held it in isolationism for 220 years was broken.
Very quickly they sent out ambassadors to the west to glean the best from architecture, democracy, law, engineering etc. There was a young man, Masataka Takaretsu, came to Scotland and did a chemistry degree and then went and learnt the distilling process inside out.
By 1924 Japan was producing its own whisky and by 1937 it was producing top quality stuff ……… and has been ever since.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.