gentrycr

By crg

A little talisman

The summer my son was 11, he and I made a trip from Florida to Ithaca, NY where he attended ice hockey camp. The two of us spent a few days at a bed and breakfast on Cayuga Lake. He is the middle of our three children, so this was rare time shared, just the two of us. We joke that we are so alike that we are basically the same person. (Both my husband and my son’s girlfriend usually agree, as they roll their eyes).

The owner of the b&b was a lovely woman. When we were leaving, she handed me the little wooden star pictured here. She asked us to “keep this star, pass it back and forth, leave it hidden for each other. You will realize you find it when you need it. It will be a symbol of your connection, no matter where you are, together or apart”

Now my son is 24, living a thousand miles away in New York state. He fell in love with a lovely girl from NY and moved up to be with her.

We still trade the star back and forth - but with less opportunity to plant it
❤️⭐️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.