Choices

The long-awaited telephone call came, and I answered the tick-box type questions. Stuff like how painful on a scale - but I had to answer how it was at that moment, when I’d had painkillers. Anyway after half an hour, I was offered an appointment with an actual person, in 30 minutes time in a nearby town. I accepted and we rushed off. The young woman gave me some exercises and told me the pain will go, but she couldn’t say whether it would go in weeks, months or a year. She wanted to see me next week but couldn’t book me in herself - I had to phone a number, wait for 10 minutes as they were busy, then I got another appointment. She said there was no point in having a scan as people my age had wear and tear in the neck and/or shoulder.

In the afternoon I went to get my toenails painted for summer. Impossible to choose from so many but I have gone for a magenta/fuchsia colour.

We are going to Katy and Colin’s for supper to meet their neighbours who spend half the year in New Zealand.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.