An Old Airman's Life

By 1VintageAirman

Summertime and the living is easy

I felt well enough today to visit all four of my shut-ins.  It has been over a month since I stopped by all four on the same day.  My summer cold has retreated to the point that I no longer feel contagious.  

The first two guys, I give communion.  They are in very upscale nursing homes.  One's memory is quickly going away so he is locked in a memory care unit.  It is very nice, but it is still locked tight as a jail.  The second man's body betrayed him, and he can no longer walk unaided.  To make matters worse, his short term memory suffers, and he repeats himself numerous times during the course of the hour..  If he wanted to and was able, he could leave his room and socialize with the other patients and staff, but he can't.

The third guy lives in his family home with his daughter and granddaughter.  He also is trapped.  Because of a medical condition, the state took his driver's license away.  They live almost in the country and are beyond public transportation.  His life virtually ended with the death of his wife ten years ago.  We talk about our yesterdays and my todays.  

My final guy, cannot leave his house without a lot of effort.  He needs multiple oxygen bottles and a wheel chair.  Going for a drive really is beyond his stamina.  The good thing he had a new central air conditioner installed this week.  His house is now cool and quiet because all the old window units got turned off.

I needed something different to end my day, so I drove past a park on Lake Worth.  A family was swimming and playing and eating hot dogs.  Their joy brought a smile to my face and a bit of calm.  Everything is alright for awhile.  Even going to go and have a few pints with my friends tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.