Happy New Year

My new year kicked off with a nice little run. I ran the 2 miles to Portobello, ran the 4 miles that is the Portobello Promathon and then ran 1.5 miles home (the other 0.5 miles I walked while talking to my mum and Ian on the phone). So 7.5 miles in total.

The Promathon was good, but there was a lot of serious club runners there - it made me feel rather slow! Although I did it in 36 minutes, which is 9 minute miles, so I'm happy with that. That's pretty good for me!

I am now just quick enough to contemplate joining a proper running club - they say that's the best way to improve...I'll have a think...

Now off to have poached eggs for lunch, then I'm meeting Nanisa and David this afternoon for a second viewing of the Hobbit!

Hope everyone is having a great New Year's Day!

I'll leave you with these fine words by Neil Gaiman (written over a decade ago...but still relevant). It's the closest I'm going to get to a New Year's resolution:

May your coming year be filled with magic and dreams and good madness. I hope you read some fine books and kiss someone who thinks you're wonderful, and don't forget to make some art -- write or draw or build or sing or live as only you can. And I hope, somewhere in the next year, you surprise yourself.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.