Heilans

Look - it’s the the Lairig Ghru. OK, off in the distance, but we’re definitely heading in that direction. We decided that two of the party would hire bikes and I’d bring up my own bike. I fondly imagined we’d be coasting down the Spey Valley, stopping for a coffee or a chat with some salmon fishermen. Harrumph, P&K had planned a bit more of a challenging uphill route and my road friendly hybrid wasn’t really the ideal mount. Still, I did pretty well and the rain mostly stayed off: I even did get a coffee up at a place beside Loch Morlich. A short five mile descent to Aviemore and then back along the Spey to Boat of Garten again. 
And I managed to keep up with the SK despite my lack of traction at times. She’s got some motor, that girl. 
Later, to Anderson’s, the only restaurant in the village and very good it was too - we watched the most enormous steak pies being delivered to an adjoining table. By the time we came to order they were out of them. If they’d been less than stupid size we could have had them too. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.