Mislet

By Mislet

Invermoriston Falls

The campsite in Ft Augustus wanted £25 to accommodate me for one night so I snook away to find a discrete location then drove to Invermoriston and cooked breakfast in the car park.  

I watched as cars and mini-coaches full of trippers drove in, disgorged their occupants for 10 minutes, then loaded up and set off for their next bit of Highland experience.  

The waterfalls are very scenic and there is a nice walk down the river to within a few metres of Loch Ness, where progress is interrupted (temporarily) by a barbed wire fence and 'private land, CCTV' signs.  

Back in the car park I found that the public conveniences are no more.

An interesting side of the Highlands that I hadn't experienced 'in season' before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.