Night Crawlers

I slept really well last night, from 2030. to 0222 a.m.  I woke with a start and was wide awake so after a little effort to fall back to sleep, I decided it best to get up for a little while and try again.  I cleaned all the kitchen counters and made them shiny, put away the clean dishes in the sink, scanned Instagram (probably a mistake) and messaged a friend in the UK where it was about 0900 by then, went out to the screen porch and got comfy on the sofa on a really warm but pleasant night.  No, the brain was screaming, no sleep happening here.  Listened to a meditation mp3, took a walk outside with Myles where the motion sensor light was on because of the breeze.  And then in looking at the garage door, there was an entomologists dream - so many kinds of insects, moths, crawlers,  and more.  I went back inside and got my camera.  The one that wouldn't fit in the collage is in extra - an almost prehistoric looking creature.  Apparently Logan had come across one while going to work and actually knew that it was called a Hellgrammite - starts life off as a centipede or caterpillar and ends up looking like this.  Who said you can't use sleeplessness to find little known insects and information?  I never did get back to sleep until about 1400, when I took a much needed nap.

But I did have breakfast with a good friend and then a pedicure.  Also, reconnected with my niece (my sister's daughter, also estranged until today) and all is good on that front.  We'll see each other and families on Monday for my sister's service.  Still amazed at the way life unfolds sometimes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.