Highly Unsprung

By CynicalWench

Shetland forever!

Despite several calamities caused entirely by my discombobulated self... I forgot my personal phone, I left my works phone at airport security, I gave up my seat to a love struck couple only to be moved to a windowless one, I lost my front tooth with a spectacularly mighty snap to a bit of a biscuit mid flight, I left the hire car lights on, etc etc etc blah blah blah......on route to the accommodation I squeezed in a beautifully serene, albeit brief, visit to St Ninians Isle and then a blissful short ferry trip to the jaw dropping wonder that is Mousa island and Mousa Broch (2,300 years old, Europe's only fully standing and intact and climbable Broch, it features in at least two ancient Norse sagas, one of which sees two lovers take refuge there). I got swooped by terns and bonxies and saw selkies and shags, cormorants, razorbills and guilliemots. Lucky me, all travel disasters forgotten, it is a magical place. Off to scalloway to get my head down for work shmorky early doors in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.