Land-and-seascapes

By tondrijfhamer

Hello France!

After a good night sleep and a nice breakfast it was time to move on. France is waiting.
Did we yesterday hardly have any traffic jams, today was different!
The trucks were back on the road and after 60 kilometers my car navigation came with the message of an accident ahead, causing a 14 kilometer jam with a delay of an hour and a half.
Oh no! Almost immediately after that it came up with an alternative route. Great!

Well, not so great. This alternative route was discovered by a lot of other cars, and soon became blocked as well. On top of that a part of it was blocked anyway because of road works. Little did my navigation know…
We had to join the original traffic jam again and drove slowly until it was over, one hour later.

Finally we drove into France and soon we came to a toll road (Peage, I don’t exactly know the English word for that, in Dutch it is called 'tol', so I guessed toll road would do). I drove up into a lane I thought was for creditcards. And so did a Swiss car in front of us. But it turned out to be the wrong lane. Well, only one thing to do: drive backwards and switch to another gate. Easier said than done, with other cars behind us already.
A Russian car directly behind us went backwards as well, but he didn’t notice another car behind him in time, and boom, they crashed. Oh no!! Both cars came to a halt at a spot that gave me just too little space to turn around, so all we could do was wait.
But as I said, one of the cars was Russian and the atmosphere wasn’t getting too great. Luckily the Swiss man (very friendly) helped me turn around my car by stopping big incoming trucks, so I could line up in another lane and travel on.
I’m so glad nothing serious happened to us!

The final 150 km nothing spectacular happened and we arrived at the camping safe and sound.
It’s hot here!!! Very hot!! Too hot!!
Just some necessary shopping and a quick pizza, and then I’m longing for my bed.

Tomorrow we’ll make plans for our time here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.