twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

WFH. It's one of life's unwritten rules that if there's one good day then it'll by my writing up day. 

Haircut at lunchtime; Jim has yet more competition. On a strip that has 2 supermarkets and 2 chippies, a Chinese, a pub and two grocers and a Thai, it seems inconceivable that after the Polish barber shop set up 3 along from Jim's that this retail cluster could sustain another barber. But that's what's happening. Turkish this time to add a twist to multi cultural Granton. I wonder if this might be the end for Jim. He's clearly past retirement age. Like way past. There seemed an air of defeat about him today...

The e bike and I then used the remaining 12 minutes of my lunch break for buzz about Waterfront Park and back along the shore home to more work. 

To Hers for dinner. Satay part 3.

Then home. I got back at 9.30 and noticed the door in the bike store had been forced some more. I stood outside and called 101 and also the landlord again. 

As I was on the phone 2 youths walked past; hoods up. And came back 5 mins later with another carrying a bin bag with what looked like bolt cutters inside.

- Here boys, why you walking about with a set of bolt cutters?

 - Muttermutterrhubarbrhubarb theyre no bolt cutters it's a fishing rod

 - Let me see then? 

 - Fuck off ya weirdo. 

And off they skulked.

So I hung about a bit to see what might happen.

I went back upstairs,  looking, listening. 

1110. I see a car parked in no man's land on Granton View. 3 mins later a youth hood up sprints from the cover of the park towards the bike store.

Down stairs I go. Annoyingly my block has lights that have sensors that brighten when you move. So I wait at the bottom of the stairs and listen. I can't see anything but I know if they arrive I'll hear them. Sure enough metal on metal. 

Out I go. And yes. It's our hooded youth of earlier. 

- Hi boys can I help you?

- Spluttersplutter hey get that phone away if you take me photae I'll get you. I mean it I'll break into your hoose and trash it.

- so I find you trying to steal bikes and you're going to say I'm in the wrong? I don't think so, pal

The weedy one is already up the steps, I take a good look at the brave one as he exits.

Police called again this time on 999. 

5 mins later the joiner the landlord has sent arrives.

Forces the door ..not without some difficulty.

Seems they haven't got in but another few minutes and they would have been.

Another 5 minutes later and the constabulary are on the scene.

0115 by the time we're done.

So I still have a flat full of bikes. And a new door on the way, I hope. 

Not sure this photo will make it to Crimewatch. But I know where he lives. And what bike he rides. Just a matter of time...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.