The Great Kingfisher Show

And what a show it was!  The Blue Angels may be flying over Lake Washington in Seattle this weekend for SeaFair, but I had half a dozen Belted Kingfishers doing amazing aerial acrobatics right outside my door this afternoon.  This went on for at least an hour, long enough for me to call my BlipBuddy Mary Jo to come over and grab some pictures.

Kingfishers have a unique and fascinating voice.  They sound like little typewriters.   They're not all that easy to photograph because they're very quick, but they sure are fun to watch.  They typically forage by perching on a high tree branch before plunging headfirst into the water.  They'll return to their perch with a freshly caught fish, beat it senseless against the perch and then swallow it headfirst.  I didn't get to see that part of their show, thankfully.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.