We're In The News Today, Oh Boy!

I went to Koshien Beach this afternoon and saw a TV crew filming. They were from Baycom News and they were filming about the head of a lion statue that can be seen on the beach when the tide goes out. I saw a photograph of this lion head in our local newspaper a couple of years ago and I have seen the lion head several times. I have not been able to find out anything about the history behind the lion head, however.

The presenters are a comedy duo called Arumikan (Aluminium Can.) Apparently, the tall one, Takahashi Saori, used to be a "glamour" model, even though she graduated with distinction from Kobe University Faculty of Developmental Science. 

Meanwhile, overhead, TV news helicopters have been hovering around acquiring shots of Koshien stadium ahead of tomorrow's opening of the 101st Summer High School Baseball tournament. I am debating within myself whether or not I should get up at 3am tomorrow to join the crowd sleeping outside the stadium in the slim chance of purchasing a ticket.

The extras are the lion head and one of the TV news helicopters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.