Gaelic Mass

On the last day of the Irish Festival they sponsor a Sunday morning Catholic mass held entirely in the Irish language.  It's a part of the festival that I really enjoy. On Sunday morning the crowd is a little more subdued, the vibe is a little less hectic, and the day is fresher.  
Sitting in the same tent where, just last night, a 15 member band was filling the whole area with booming sound it somehow feels all the more serene to have priestly blessings flow over us.  
I don't understand almost any word but the beauty of the sound of the language is entirely relaxing and fulfilling.  
It's very close to the feeling I had as a child when I was falling asleep upstairs while my parents talked with other adults downstairs.  It was just so calm and secure.  Everything was ok and that's the way it would stay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.