Life on the Mothership!

By TheMothership

Our Highest Point

Los Lagos in Picos de Europa. There is a steep, narrow road up to these glacial lakes which is mainly only accessible by the many paid coaches during the summer. Hundreds of coaches go up and down each day. I went armed with translation about why Big Fish couldn’t transfer into a coach ( he cannot sit without his wheelchair) and to my surprise they let us drive up. What a thrill I thought when I started. About 2kms up I was tucking myself right in behind the coach in front of us so that he would fly around the hairpin bends knowing downcoming coaches were waiting for him and ordinary cars were getting well out of his way. The coaches were all in radio contact. I’m a keen driver but this road was really scary as The Mothership is really heavy and wide and there were a few moments when only half the wheels width was on tarmac. But we made it up and down!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.