Abnormality of Winter

I was wandering around the garden thinking how sad everything looks. I don't tidy anything so the old vegetation can provide shelter for insects and other wildlife during the winter months. It has been wet but also surprisingly warm.

This is a Red Scabious, Knautia macedonica, which should flower in the mid summer, yet I found this one little bloom and a few buds peaking out from the maze of old stalks that litter the border. I also have a couple of primula that are blooming but this, at this time of year, is really something special.

One of the reasons for my wandering, was to try and make a decision. As my polytunnel died in the recent storms, I can take advantage of it's demise by finding a new location for the replacement which is hopefully in the post.
I've decided to reclaim the land it's on now for new borders. There's an area which has been fenced off to keep dogs off salads and leaf vegetables and is really sufficient for my needs. So the tunnel will now go into what was originally the chicken run. I tried to cultivate it last year but slugs put an end to that idea. This is truly a cottage garden and I am not against putting any taller and climbing veggies in amongst the flowers.

It's only the beginning of January so there is still plenty of time to make plans. This little flower brings hope!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.