All the Years Combine

Woodstock’s 50th anniversary this year. This just occurred to me: it’s our 50th anniversary of being an “item.” We met in August, 1969, at the Douglas County Teen Fair. I liked her because she was listening to music, laughing and smoking a small cigar; I was wearing bell bottoms and cowboy boots. We laughed and laughed, somehow awkwardly arranged another meet up, and, well...50 years of stories together. Tom has given up the stogies, I rarely wear a cowboy boot, but we still love good music and dancing on summer evenings, and we even laugh time to time.

We might have road tripped to Woodstock had it been two to three years later, but at our tender ages, 16 and 15, a cross country road trip, and back, might have been a little much. But I think that the Woodstock vibes were on the West Coast as well.

50 years...holy moley. An anniversary with Woodstock...that’s right! That’s us. We represent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.