A Day At A Time.

By ElCid

Restoration

Among the pictures and photographs I have just had restored was this watercolour. It is of one of the many churches and cathedrals within the Kremlin walls in Moscow.

It was painted for me by David Plested, a colleague at the time, and commemorates our adventures in the Soviet Union in 1987.

The extra shows four smaller photographs which belong with their larger cousins, but which were damaged in transit to Spain and have been in a box for the last six and a half years.

All six were taken by Randolph Bezzant Holmes, the official photographer to the British Army of the Raj and a personal friend of my grandfather, while he was serving there.

Taken around 1915, they are of Afghani tribesman in the Khyber Pass, near Peshawar. Having just had a hunt around on the interwebby, I see that some of my prints have been sold at auction in the past few years.

Think I'll hang on to mine, now they have all been reunited.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.