Reading

Grandma and Grandad kept lots of books from when Daddy and Uncle Charles were little. I have them now. I read this one with Dad this evening. I did very well and read most of the sentences out loud with very little help from Dad. Then I read it without saying it out loud. You do that by moving your head from side to side, so people know that you are reading.

She did really well on the second attempt with this book, but the first time she knocked it away. She gets discouraged because she seems to think that she should be able to read and the fact that she can't means she's not good at it. And she doesn't like doing things she doesn't feel good at. A trait she has inherited from her overly competitive mother, I am sorry to say. Still, it's good for me too, listening to myself tell her that we are proud of her for trying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.