Vintage .....

One of those days again.
First job once I fed everything was to help wee brother rodeo a 2nd calved cow in to the shed as her calf had died. Twinned another calf onto her so hopefully she will take it.
Got the mower on and went away to open up the end rigs on another field of grass. By the time I had been round it 12 times it was lunch time , so came home and took Littlemiss and the terrier off to Peebles Show for the afternoon. Bumped in to quite a few folk I hadn’t seen for a while. One friend who follows my Blips told me I am getting grumpier ! She is probably right.
It turns out her Dad was judging the vintage tractor classes and had chosen this wee McCormick with a mid mounted mower as his winner. If I had to use that these days I would never get the job done. We used to have a Ransomes rear mounted one on a wee Fordston Dexta tractor years ago . They didn’t like wet flat grass and the wooden drive rod would snap if the mower jammed or hit any stones .
Stopped in Peebles on the way home for chips and a wander down by the Tweed , then back home to another bike rodeo. This time a heifer to calve . A muckle big Angus bull calf , but it’s out alive and well.
Then another cow which had mastitis last month decided to spit out a calf but she now only has 1 tit out of 4 that works so she had to come into the shed too.
Just love quiet weekends !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.