Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Grey Scottish Borders

July might have been warm, but it's going out with a damp squib. Very cool for a Sunday morning bike ride. I head out to Auchendinny. The climb up through Loanstone isn't too bad, but at the top, it's a bit misty. There's not much to see, but it's not too damp. On to the Falla Toll road, I have a tailwind, and the mist clears. There are quite a few cyclists out despite the damp conditions. 

The tailwind is still with me on the A703 down to Eddleston, and the climb up the Meldons. I switch off the front light when a horse appears, a bit bright, I turn the corner, and the road is full of sheep. Stop for a while while they pass. Off again up to the pass, then down to the A72. Just before I drop down to the A road I stop to take my blip, in the light rain. Even though it is damp, it is still very picturesque.

As I head along the A72, the rain goes off, it is just the wind, even more so on the Lyne Valley road to Romannobridge. Then up to the Bogsbank road to West Linton. There's not much of a view of the Pentland Hills.

The last bit is not too bad. The wind is in my face, but the climb up to the moor road is ok, and while not fast, I make good time, and I am soon in Penicuik. Just north of the town centre, there are road works, and the rains starts just as the traffic lights turn red. Not too heavy, so I am not too damp as I head through the road works, on to Seafield Moor Road to Hillend and home. Glad to get a shower and warm up a bit.

The whole ride can be seen at Relive here.

A bit cool in the afternoon, the rain sets in, but it is down to Morningside for the charity shops, and avoiding the rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.