Wandering Thoughts

Not withstanding my new found enthusiasm for Africa - thank you, David Attenborough, as if I didn't have enough things on my go-to-list without needing to add both the Kalahari and Namib deserts - I've spent the afternoon contemplating the Kerguelen Islands.

These are deep in southern reaches of the Indian Ocean - the book is by my friend Max Schmid, the only person I know who's been there - and they are even more inaccessible and expensive than most of the other places on my visit-list.

From this afternoon's research there appears to be only one tour company that contemplates going to these islands, they went in late 2002 and frustratingly in November 2012 - maybe by 2022 I'll have saved up sufficient to do the trip.

The only alternative seems to be trying to blag a trip on the occasional French government supply boat.

892/2934

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.