Weird bird day

I did my little bird loop in Maryland on the way to my dad’s and I’m on this little back road and I see this bird running towards me on the grass right next to the road. I’m not sure why but I just assumed it was a chicken (because when do hawks run?) and couldn’t believe it when she (it was definitely a she) jumped onto a fence post right in front of my car. I took a couple of shots as I drove by and then she flew up onto a branch. As I was turning around she flew off again so I parked and walked in the direction I saw her fly. I saw her, she saw me, and then instead of flying away, she flew right back towards me, went over me and landed on a broken tree across the road. We had an entire conversation (one-sided) and then after a small bath, she took off again, staring at me the whole time. It was spectacular (and I never use that word).
Then I’m just about to turn onto my dad’s road when this guinea fowl stepped into the road right in front of me. I stopped (of course) and it walked halfway out, turned towards me, and just stood there for a couple of beats. Then it turned around and walked back. Just like that.
So, weird (but good) bird day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.