Sunset

I stopped on my way home to visit my friend J at hospice. They reassessed her condition today and think she has only 1-3 days left. She was a little worse than she had been at lunch, but was still aware of our presence.
We were co-workers for a few years and really got to know each other through daily lunch walks. She made me laugh a lot, told great stories and gave me excellent advice many times. We hadn’t been instant friends, and I’ll always be grateful that we decided to give it a shot.
I will never forget the morning she called to tell me that she had stage 4 lung cancer, a little more than a year ago, and the pit that has been in my stomach ever since.
Right about the time that I got to her exit there was a beautiful sunset and a double rainbow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.