Fritz Lang Fever

My Dear Fellows and Dear Princess,

Check me out! Aren't I the big arty photog today?!

I am very excited because I am not very artistic, but I liked the interplay between light and shadow in this blip, and the harsh geometry of the shadows, implying the caged condition of the modern urban environment.

See? I am just like Robert Mapplethorpe but without someone's finger up my wee-hole*.

Actually, I am not artistic at all. Not a bone in my body. But I do know about German Expressionism, mainly because of horror movies and Alfred Hitchcock. So today's picture is entitled, "Das Kabinet Des Doktor Ohagani". 

Also I am currently wearing dark glasses and a beret and brandishing a riding crop like Otto Preminger**. You can't overdo these things.

S.

* So far as you know.

** David Niven told a story about Otto Preminger. He was directing a movie which called for crying children, but the children were happy and excited to be in a movie, so refused to cooperate and look miserable. 

"Clear ze muzzers from ze set!" barked Preminger. 

The children looked around, wondering where their mothers were going.

"Your muzzers haff been taken avay," Preminger informed them. Then he lowered his tone, "TAKEN AVAY!" he cried, "ENT you vill NEVAH see zem AGAIN!!!"

Crying children. On cue. Traumatised. Probably scarred for life. But he got the shot he was after.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.