Bude tidal pool

When my twentieth century babies were small, we used to bring them to Cornwall on holiday each summer. And then, after I separated from my first wife, my brother and I used to take them. 

We'd often visit Bude - in fact, my brother, the girls, and I stayed there one year - not least because of the leisure centre with its wave machine and flume. Later, when Dan and Abi came along, we visited there again. 

But Bude also has an excellent beach, complete with a tidal pool, and we visited there, today. We set up camp on the beach and I minded our stuff while the kids all went 'round to the pool. They returned a little while later, fizzing with excitement, so I went back 'round there with them.

Lord, it was cold when I first jumped in but hugely and immediately invigorating. We swam about and soon warmed up and I enjoyed it so much that I returned for another quick swim just before we left.

****
No scales
Reading: 'Are We Still Rolling?' by Phill Brown

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.