A New Day

By ANewDay

False Alarm

I've been driving around for weeks with a scratched windscreen, where an object struck it while I was passing a building being re-roofed. It looked like a large metal bolt, which bounced off leaving a long scratch. It didn't really bother me, as it was just below my field of vision, but my husband nagged me to get something done about it before the MOT is due. He insisted it wouldn't pass, as it was on the driver's side and larger than 10 mm.

So I phoned my insurer, who put me on to Autoglass and the technician came out today with a new windscreen, all ready to replace the old one. However, when he looked closely at the damage, he advised that it really wasn't that bad and, in his opinion (although he couldn't guarantee anything!) it would pass the MOT.

What a waste of everybody's time and effort! Next time, I'll trust my own judgement and not listen to my husband:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.