~Scam~

Today I had lunch with my friend Jean who was being scammed.
Update she dumped that guy( Scott) before because he kept asking for more and more money and never came here. Sadly she met someone else (Eric) right away.
She believes he loves her after only 6 weeks. He said he wants her to move to California 9-20-2019.  He told her his wife and son died in a car accident 16 years ago and she is the first person that has made him happy. She put her house up for sale and it sold in 1 day. She now has the estate people coming and setting up a sale next week. Next she will sell her car.
Jeans new love interest is sending his friend here to pick her up the day her house closes and drive her to California where he will meet her. He told her he had to work until the 23rd so he will be waiting when she arrives.
I called adult protective services. They said they have talked to her and explained scams but she refuses to believe he is lying to her.
I left feeling that I have failed her. It is so obvious that he is lying (I read his texts to her on the hook up app) but she refuses to believe anything other than is words.
After lunch I spent the rest of the day helping unpack and decorate Barbs kitchen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.