Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2019 Wednesday — Overwhelming Day

Well, this is how my day has gone:

I subbed in the campus Writing Lab (for 4 hours) because a colleague is ill. So then add my own hour of Writing Lab to that and I have been in the lab for 5 long hours today. I'm tired.

Then I have one student who is panicked because she cannot get her cyber classroom in Cengage’s “MindTap” program to show her that her work is completed. I wrote the “MindTap” tech and he said everything inside that student's account is just fine. He's frustrated (oh no!). That's two frustrated now about “MindTap” that I know about, and that’s not counting me.

Then, I have a student contacting me from cyberspace telling me that he can't get his Project 1 submitted into the Canvas online program -- he missed the upload time for Tuesday students, so I am trying desperately to solve that problem. But not having any luck.

Then midway through my hours in the Writing Lab a student came in acting crazy and hostile. The lab aide and I both thought we needed to call the campus police because we had an entire room of students and we need to keep the place safe. So the campus police arrived and asked the student to step outside. It was not too disturbing to the other students, but it sure rattled my cage. But everything is okay and that student was having a reaction to medicine. So we were all okay.

The college bookstore has botched my book order for this semester. AND the bookstore manager admitted last Friday that it was her fault; she did not order the number of books that I requested. That's just not right. So a couple dozen students are without their books and are getting behind in their book.

And that is how the second week of the semester is unfolding or maybe that’s unraveling.

We'll all be okay.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol
.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.