Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Abducted by aliens

That's what it felt like the first time I had an MRI scan.

At St Mary's Hospital I was introduced to a massive metal machine with a void in the middle in which I was obliged to enter.

Despite ear protectors I was subjected to sounds like I was being dragged into a meat grinder. It's not painful, just audibly appalling. 

Today's scan was at the Fortius Clinic in Marylebone and they have newer kit.

The machine was much smaller and more like a giant Polo Mint painted in a reassuring shade of pale blue. The radiologist gave me earphones so that Kevin Whateley could read me a nice story on Radio 4.

The whole thing seemed a lot quicker and certainly a lot quieter.

Results next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.