Take a letter......

AB found my pen and notebook when she came over today. I have been doing some family research and had been keeping some notes about the previous occupant of my Mum’s house.

The lady in question , as I have mentioned in a previous blip , was my Mum’s great aunt. She was one of 11 and a shepherd’s daughter. In 1905 she travelled to New York from Scotland.She moved to Canada and in 1928 married a Canadian widower. Sadly he died 6 years later and she returned home. Two years later she returned to Canada. She travelled to various places. San Francisco,New York, River Plate, S. America. Came home again 1937. She was off again in 1947 to Halifax, Nova Scotia and then returned 1948 from Montreal aged 79! ( She may have travelled to Australia too in 1889 .... still some facts to verify!)

How a shepherd’s daughter from a very humble home / farm managed all this I will never know but I am really fascinated and eager to learn more about “Auntie Jen”. as Mum called her.

We had lunch out with Fifi, A and J and later we collected E and E from school. Lovely to see them all.r

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.