Painted Lady at Granta Park

Upfront I have to admit that I didn't take today's image, though it was taken on my camera. Our Wildlife Trust lays on a number of events for their corporate sponsors, and today I spent the afternoon leading a wildlife photography workshop at Granta Park. 

I only had two hours, so was rather limited in what I could do. However, I ran through some top tips, I showed them various pieces of equipment and then we went out into the grounds to try out techniques. I lent my cameras to three of the participants, so that they could try out telephoto and macro lenses. 

I was glad that we found some subjects - September isn't the best time as most of the flowers are over and insects were fairly sparse too, apart from the ubiquitous painted ladies and a few grasshoppers. This was taken by one of the participants on a buddleia bush close to the buildings, the windows of which provide the nicely-blurred bluish background. 

It would have been good to have more time after the photoshoot so that I could have reviewed their work on the laptop, but everyone seemed to have a good time and felt that they'd learnt something. It's given me confidence that Chris and I could organise some full days next year, probably in conjunction with the Wildlife Trust or other local conservation organisations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.