Up, up and away

But only briefly.
As I now know it's not an awfully long ride!

It was with some trepidation that I queued up to go on this with my young son and his friend. I'm not too bad with heights, it's more the mechanical contraptions that I'm concerned with. From what I could see, this entire wheel appears to simply sit where it is, its' own weight holding it in place.
That was the bit I didn't like.
It being seemingly not fastened down.
Eek.
One gust of wind....

My other half assured me it would not blow over.
Nor did he want to go on it either, funnily enough.

So, what could I see from up here on this balancing wheel?
Well, lots really, as you might expect.
Although it was a little grey in the distance.
This is Lancashire!

I did have quite a few shots of the vista before me but went for this one within the gondola. It's funny how it seems to be quite big when you look at it from a distance, but it's not so big when you're on it. Maybe it's just that my perception of the real world is a bit skew-wiff...?! I have thought that before, to be honest!

So, if you haven't been on it yet, you still have time if you get your little legs across to Chorley town centre. There is one more day before this giant hamster wheel gets dismantled on Monday!

Actually, it might be quite interesting watching them dismantle it too, like a giant Meccano piece. I reckon it simply just folds up in the middle like an umbrella!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.