A knot of squirrels

So, mr lg9 texted me that he had found “4 squirrels stuck together” when he was out cutting the grass. I can’t believe this can even happen, but when I got home we found 4 young squirrels with their tails knotted together and entwined in long grasses. We think that they got wound up together in the nest material and while trying to get unstuck, they fell out of the tree, bringing the nest with them. (We later found video of a similar situation on YouTube).
Mr lg9 held and calmed them while I used scissors to cut the grass out, unwind everything and unknot their tails. It took about 30 minutes, but they all ran off at the end, which is maybe good, although with much different tails, which isn’t. In hindsight we should have somehow kept them from running off so that we could have taken them to a vet or rehabber, but we were just so focused on trying to get them apart. My dad says that if they survive we will have pet squirrels, but I guess that’s where the hindsight comes in again.
It feels like the universe is finding more creative ways to give me this

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.