Photoliff

By Photoliff

The Americans

Last week Robert Frank passed away. I thought that this week (and perhaps next!), I am going to shoot a bit of a homage to his incredible work, The Americans.

So, keeping in the spirit of the 1950s work, I am going to shoot the project using Kodak Tri-X. My idea is not to copy Frank’s style, but to explore some of the themes in his book. He created a very different view of America than people were perhaps ready for at the time.

I am going to take on three themes: anxiety, the snapshot aesthetic and symbolism. Obviously, with the UK in the throes of Brexit, there’s a lot of anxiety around at the present time.

I’ll keep posting up digital stuff in the meantime, but will post the final work on my blog when it’s done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.