DrSandy

By DrSandy

Dog trauma

I arrived at the farm, to find NO Kaydee, to greet me. 

To be honest, there was no one else on the farm either, besides the workers, but that isn't particularly unusual. 



I was perturbed.............

I walked up to her kennel. Right in front of it, was a pool of blood.  My heart sank, tears welled up.  Could something have happened to my beloved friend ?  Would Karen not have at least given me a heads up,  so I could cry in private ?

I walked to the office, there was no one, human or animal, there either.

I started doing office things, but my heart was heavy.  I didn't actually cry, but I feared the worst.  Once I had completed the time sheets, I walked down to the house,  to look for answers.

I found Caitlyn playing with Anna, in one of the bedrooms.  I plucked up the courage to ask, where my canine friends were.

I was told Kaydee and Zoey, were at the vet.  There had been a dog fight,on Thursday night - the fight had been instigated by Kaydee.

Was Kaydee all right ?   Yes.

Then I asked, was Zoey all right ? I asked more out of politeness, than concern. Yes, she had lost a piece of lip, but she  was fine.

And Skye and Bonnie ? 

Apparently they had, gotten locked in Mom's bedroom. 

Caitlyn let Skye and Squiddee out and I trooped back to the office,  relieved.

Squiddee and Skye kept me company.  Squiddee  opted to lie on the mat, behind my chair - taking advantage of the fact that, "the grouch" was not around, but I don't think he really felt comfortable.  See the extra.  

And then, just before lunch time, my beloved barged into the office, wearing a plastic collar.  

In a flash, it was dog cuddles and happy tears. 

NOTE : The pool of blood in front of her kennel, was the remnants of a sheep, which had been slaughtered, over the weekend.  Ouch !  A farm is a rough place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.