The Rothiemurchus Mend

This is the type of place that makes me proud to be Scottish!

Thanks to Virn for a number of things today, she suggested that she (on her own) was going to take her motorbike up here to get some Venison from the farm shop and also go foraging for Juniper Berries, to make not only a lush meal (by the sounds of it) but also to add to her Food and Foraging Blog. Then a few days ago she text me and suggested it may be good for my back to do some proper walking, so I drove to St Andrews to meet up with her and we took the drive up.

The first pit stop on the way was at Pitlochry - where this was seen.
This woman was in serious need of a cut, hence the hood, but was devastated that it was shut on a Sunday. Had some lunch and a stretch then continued up the road on our merry way.

Once up in Rothiemurchus I changed into the proper walking boots - Virn found me a branch/stick to walk with, however after about 15mins my back had loosened right up. Was still a tad stiff but I was walking normally again! Yay. I did help with some of the foraging, mainly holding a tub and branches down, but could identify the bushes we were looking for without any help from Virn in the end.

Good wee wander then back to the cafe for Venison buying and coffee. Back got tight sitting down but once walking back to the car and in I managed to keep it relaxed! We hadnt had much of a chance for landscape photography until we passed this scene on the road out. But my fave shot of the day has to be this one, didnt think about it just took one of Virn taking the same pic I had been, think it works with the low lighting...

Drove back via Dundee as this seemed the best, well lit route back to Fife after the horror that is the A9. Managed to get this of the still and calm Tay! No tripod to hand but the wall helped!

So today I was in, Fife, Perth & Kinross, The Highlands and Dundee! Very Scottish day out! BACK STILL relaxed. PLEASE STAY THAT WAY! Got a massage booked in for tomorrow so that should help too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.