Bad Kreuznach and Worms, Germany

One of those day trips again!  Good weather which I did not want to waste, is all it was, but no, it's always more than that, as I really enjoy forgetting about stress this way.

Left at 10.20, absolutely no jams on the way there despite the ongoing road works, and arrived at 14.40 in Worms, as I had more or less planned.  The one thing to see there is St. Peter's Dom or Cathedral, and it was as imposing as it was old, as well as obviously renovated.  Never mind, enough old stuff to keep me pasted on the spot for an hour and then some.  Even took a stroll around the area and discovered the small square where Luther was ordered to recant his Protestant convictions, which of course he refused to do (good for him!), as well as the adjacent park where hidden speakers 'broadcasted' some of his philosophical ruminations.  There's an extra ...

By 16.30, I was back on the motorway, with still plenty of time and good weather for one of those villages that I had noticed on the previous visit, so I decided to explore Bad Kreuznach, with the three medieval houses on the bridge.  Two of the houses are under renovation (wow!) and the third one is a shop, quite modern-looking inside, and medieval on the outside.  Then I went down to the river and had a platter of spaghetti which I couldn't finish, so had the rest wrapped up.  Took a stroll after the meal and some more shots, then returned to the car.

I could not believe that it would not start.

Luckily, I now had my phone with me (unlike last year).  Called our International Help Desk and reported the problem, then AW to tell him that I would be delayed.  That was at 18.20.  At 20.00, the tow truck arrived but didn't need to load my car.  Instead, the mechanic looked under the hood and then decided that a little push would do the trick, and sure enough it worked!  Thing is -- I was told not to turn off the engine at all till I got back home.  Even if I had to fill up the tank?  Yes, even then.  So that is what I did -- passed by a filling station and left the engine running even when I went inside to pay, then drove the 3.5 hours back to our driveway, without a hitch.  The car performed beautifully!  And what did the help desk and services cost me?  Absolutely nothing.

The moment I switched it off after parking it, I tried to switch it on again, and, no, it did not start.  What an adventure!  Will phone the garage first thing Monday morning.  A fab day! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.