Grass

Back in the summer (just seems like yesterday – or was that last year?) Mrs W picked some grass seed heads from the field beside our back fence and dried them.
 
Today I spotted them on the mantel piece in the living room with the sun (high personal shutter speed) making a pleasant shadow on the wall.  Apparently they were put out a week or so ago . . .
 
This just had to be today’s Tiny Tuesday blip, so down the studio (table in the family room) and set up a spot light (Cree torch) against the white back drop etc, etc.  After I had processed it and ready (I thought) for uploading I noticed that the texture of the back drop was crystal clear.  On closure inspection the seed heads weren’t.
 
So back to the camera and took another set of shots.  Well I wasn’t to happy with these either, seemed a bit ‘done it before’ and certainly better.
 
So back to the camera and took another set of shots!   This time I changed to the black back drop and got a much more pleasing result – well to me anyway.  I also wanted a closeup of one of the heads, and as I’ve yet to find any extension tubes for the EOS R (any pointers would be appreciated) I put a 4X magnifier onto the camera lens.  Although it was a lot closer the quality was no where as good as cropping the 24-105 image, so that is what you’ve got.
 
The only question was whether to make the bunch of seed heads the blip, or the macro?  Well as it is Tiny Tuesday the macro won, and the bunch is at extras along with the one that went wrong.
 
Many thanks to JDO for hosting Tiny Tuesday this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.