Abstract Thursday : : Rotate and Crop

We went to visit our friends Jerry and Mary in their new house today. There is still a lot for them to do, but they both seem so much happier.  I worried about them during the last two days of white heat and threatened power outages, but the predicted high winds never materialized, even in the widely scattered locations where the power was turned off, and neither theirs, nor ours, was one of them, and it is cooling off quickly this evening. 

The process of moving, like the process of rebuilding, was a series of Catch 22 situations and they are still encountering them as they attempt to get shades and televisions installed, landscaping done and furniture delivered and arranged.

Nobody can EVER be prepared for losing everything, including their dog...but at least they were well insured.  Mary will make sure that every 't' is crossed and every 'i' is dotted. And they have a very sweet new dog named Scout, a  Cavalier King Charles Spaniel.

OilMan is still showing definite signs of neurological injury, probably due to a bulging disk at L5...a 'foot slap' and a positive Van Trendelenburg sign (a sort of side to side 'waddle') when he walks.  He has very little pain but this makes him even less responsive to suggestion or compliant about exercising. He finally called the orthopedist for a consult and was given an appointment in nine weeks. I imagine the hope is that he will get better on his own and cancel the appointment. Good thing we have Kathy who knows as much as anybody about the signs and symptoms, and more than any doctor about exactly what to do about it.

I never got anywhere with my quest for a prescription. After making many phone calls and leaving many messages a nurse got back to me and said that they couldn't do it and I should ask my internist. Good thing I have an appointment with her (the one who sent me to the other doctor in the first place) next week. It's not as if I want to take an antibiotic of any kind (and certainly not one that will cost me hundreds of dollars ) without good reason.

My latest theory is that what is causing this condition, which recurs every two or three years is stress!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.