PeteWpics

By PeteWpics

It didn't rain today!

The men came to clear our gutters and give the conservatory a shine this morning. After showing some willing and going out to get the milk for their teas I skulked off and left them in the capable hands of MrsW, who has more of a grasp of what's going on in the world of gutter clearing than I do. I headed off down my favourite road out of Downham. There may be boskier routes than the Downham to Wisbech road and many think I am mad when I rave on about it but it's not so much the road that gets me, it's the sky. It is so big and sublime that the first time I drove along it I had great difficulty in concentrating on the tarmac under my tyres. I'm no sailor but I imagine that ocean going yachtsmen may experience the same feelings I get from driving to Wisbech! 
I had hoped to blip the pumpkin field which seems to appear about this time of year but as I had feared the harvesters had beaten me to it. Maybe next year. 
So 2 blips relating to Fenland industry. The main is a wind turbine both an ancient and a modern industry in these parts. I know many don't agree on their beauty (a bit like opinions over the Wisbech road) but I love them, not only for the clean energy they produce but also for how they stand in the landscape - so much like their predecessors the windmills. I'm sure in years to come they will have gained the same prestige as the few remaining windmills in the area. Ok, I admit you would have to be decidedly thinner to consider converting one into a house as is done with windmills but you can't have everything. 
The extra refers to an industry very specific to Downham once upon a time. Cows - butter producers. For centuries butter was produced in Downham and transported by boat to Cambridge from where it continued its route to London by road. To the left of this picture of cows is the River Great Ouse which was used for this transportation. The river is just out of sight in this picture but if you could see it you would see that its surface is, after recent rains, approximately 15 to 20 feet above the heads of the cows. Another reason why any attempt at controlling global warming by means such as wind turbines gets the thumbs up from me :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.